Bob Dylan – Bootleg Volume 8 – Tell Tale Signs

bootleg volume 8

I realize that Bob Dylan is an acquired taste.  His voice is . . . unique. None of my immediate family like him, not Jan nor either of my sons.  I, however, am a fan.  I have more of his music than anyone else, except perhaps Van Morrison.  Bob Dylan has written some of the most meaningful and powerful songs of the past 55 years (He’ll be 74 on May 24). His work is poetry made even more impactful by being placed inside an envelope of music.  Let me say one more thing about Bob Dylan’s voice: he can carry a tune.  Sure, he won’t win any awards for vocal gymnastics, but he can sing on key and in tune, something which a large proportion of currently popular singers are unable to do without autotune (-cough- Katy Perry -cough-).

So what about this double CD release by Bob Dylan?  Well. his voice is in good form and the sound quality of the recordings is excellent throughout all the songs.  More importantly, these are good songs.

What’s Bootleg Volume 8 About?

This is a two CD set of 27 alternate versions and unreleased live versions for songs recorded or performed between 1989 and 2006. Some of these songs are alternates from the albums: Oh Mercy, Love and Theft, Modern Times and Time Out of Mind.  Those are some pretty good albums, and so are these alternate versions and live performances.

I recommend this CD set.  You can check it out on Amazon by clicking on this link Bootleg Volume 8 – Tell Tale Signs, or you can borrow it from the library if you want to give it a listen (the Jacksonville Public Library has this available.

Here is a complete track listing:

Disc: 1
1. Mississippi 6:04 (Unreleased, Time Out of Mind)
2. Most of the Time 3:46 (Alternate version, Oh Mercy)
3. Dignity 2:09 (Piano demo, Oh Mercy)
4. Someday Baby 5:56 (Alternate version, Modern Times)
5. Red River Shore 7:36 (Unreleased, Time Out of Mind)
6. Tell Ol’ Bill 5:31 (Alternate version, North Country soundtrack)
7. Born in Time 4:10 (Unreleased, Oh Mercy)
8. Can’t Wait 5:45 (Alternate version, Time Out of Mind)
9. Everything is Broken 3:27 (Alternate version, Oh Mercy)
10. Dreamin’ of You 6:23 (Unreleased, Time Out Of Mind)
11. Huck’s Tune 4:09 (From Lucky You soundtrack)
12. Marchin’ to the City 6:36 (Unreleased, Time Out of Mind)
13. High Water (For Charley Patton) 6:40 (Live, August 23, 2003, Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada)
Disc: 2
1. Mississippi 6:24 (Unreleased version #2, Time Out of Mind)
2. 32-20 Blues 4:22 (Unreleased, World Gone Wrong)
3. Series of Dreams 6:27 (Unreleased, Oh Mercy)
4. God Knows 3:12 (Unreleased, Oh Mercy)
5. Can’t Escape from You 5:22 (Unreleased, December 2005)
6. Dignity 5:25 (Unreleased, Oh Mercy)
7. Ring Them Bells 4:59 (Live at The Supper Club, November 17, 1993, New York, NY)
8. Cocaine Blues 5:30 (Live, August 24, 1997, Vienna, VA)
9. Ain’t Talkin’ 6:13 (Alternate version, Modern Times)
10. The Girl on the Greenbriar Shore 2:51 (Live, June 30, 1992,Dunkerque, France)
11. Lonesome Day Blues 7:37 (Live, February 1, 2002, Sunrise, FL)
12. Miss the Mississippi 3:20 (Unreleased, 1992)
13. The Lonesome River 3:04 (With Ralph Stanley, from the album Clinch Mountain Country)
14. ‘Cross the Green Mountain 8:15 (From Gods and Generals Soundtrack)
Share This Post: